A Series of Orphans and a Creepy Old Dude

I know what everyone is wondering:

What’s Jordan’s take on the recent Netflix adaptation of Lemony Snicket’s classic children’s series about some orphans and a man who doesn’t know when to quit?

Well the good news is that I’m going to give you my take on the recent Netflix adaptation of Lemony Snicket’s classic children’s series about some orphans and a man who doesn’t know when to quit.

Really I should have been doing an episode by episode account of the series, but I didn’t think of that until just now so you’re going to have to just deal with the fact that I’ve just got one broad, chunky, piece of writing for you to read.

Having seen the trailer before the series was released, I wasn’t too impressed. Neil Patrick Harris’ performance didn’t look like it was going to be like what I was expecting, and that was setting me up for disappointment.

The next thing was that I didn’t watch the series straight away. I had my reasons to delay watching it, but others were telling me that they didn’t think too much of it.

Let me tell you that my initial thoughts from the trailer were wrong, and those who told me they didn’t think too much of it were also wrong.

The Netflix adaptation of A Series of Unfortunate Events is the best adaptation of Lemony Snicket’s classic children’s series about some orphans and a man who doesn’t know when to quit since the 2004 movie adaptation of Lemony Snicket’s classic children’s series about some orphans and a man who doesn’t know when to quit.

Not really too high an achievement I know seeing as it’s the only adaptation of Lemony Snicket’s classic children’s series about some orphans and a man who doesn’t know when to quit since the movie, but in this two horse race Netflix definitely takes the cake.

The show is very self aware, referencing the platform it’s being watched on, and even at one point Count Olaf makes a joke about the viewing patterns of Netflix users in which he’s unsure of how long the series has lasted.

Haven’t you learned anything this year? Week? Season? Whatever.

One of my favourite things about the series as it is so far, is the amount of mystery and intrigue it is building whether it be in the overarching plot line for the Baudelaire orphans or the subtle throw-away lines hinting at further background to the story.

The series is definitely more clever than people are going to give it credit for, and the performances throughout are as good as you could have hoped as far as translating a character from a book to screen could be.

There is more to be said about this series, and I would be the one to say it but I feel like this post has gone on long enough for now. Updates will hopefully come in the not too distant future.

Until then, watch the recent Netflix adaptation of Lemony Snicket’s classic children’s series about some orphans and a man who doesn’t know when to quit and decide for yourself what you think.

 

 

Leave a Reply

